The U.S. Department of Education Expands Second Chance Pell Experiment

Author: Robert King   |   Posted on: April 26, 2020

The U.S. Department of Education Expands Second Chance Pell Experiment

U.S. Department of Education invited a new cohort of 67 schools to participate in its Second Chance Pell experiment, creating more education opportunities for incarcerated students. Prior to the announcement, there were 63 schools located in 26 states participating in this experiment.  The expansion more than doubles the size of the experiment, allowing incarcerated students to use Federal Pell Grants at 130 schools located in 42 states and the District of Columbia.

The Second Chance Pell Experiment, originally created in 2015, provides need-based Federal Pell Grants to individuals incarcerated in federal and state prisons. The grants allow incarcerated individuals to receive Federal funding to enroll in postsecondary programs offered by local colleges and universities or distance learning providers. In the first two years of the experiment, institutions were awarded approximately $36.2 million in Federal Pell Grants. According to Federal Student Aid records, nearly 5,000 incarcerated students received Federal Pell Grants in the 2016–17 award year, and 6,750 incarcerated students received Federal Pell Grants in the 2017–2018 award years.  And according to a recent study by the Vera Institute of Justice, more than 4,000 credentials—including postsecondary certificates, associate degrees, and bachelor's degrees—have been awarded to Second Chance Pell students over the past three years.

Additionally, according to the Rand Corporation, individuals who participate in correctional education programs are 43% less likely to return to prison than those who do not.

After receiving more than 180 letters of interest from colleges and universities, the Department selected the below 67 new institutions to participate in the second cohort of the Second Chance Pell Experiment.

Albany Technical College

Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College

Barton County Community College

Boston College

Bowie State University

Brewton-Parker College

California State University, Sacramento

Calvin University

Central Arizona College

Central Georgia Technical College

Chaminade University of Honolulu

Claflin University

Colby Community College

Columbia Greene Community College

Community College of Rhode Island

Community College of Vermont

CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College

Delaware Technical Community College

Donnelly College

Dyersburg State Community College

Eastern University

Fletcher Technical Community College

Georgetown University

Georgia State University

Holmes Community College

Hutchinson Community College

Imperial Community College District

Inver Hills Community College

Kankakee Community College

Kansas City Kansas Community College

Lane College

Life University

Madison Area Technical College

Marion Technical College

Maysville Community & Technical College

Miami Dade College

Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College

Missouri State University - West Plains

Nashville State Community College

Northshore Technical Community College

Ozarks Technical Community College

Palm Beach State College

Piedmont Virginia Community College

Rio Salado College

Rose State College

Salt Lake Community College

Siena Heights University

Southeastern Community College

Southside Virginia Community College

St. Francis College

St. Lawrence University

SUNY Adirondack Community College

SUNY College at Potsdam

Tennessee College of Applied Technology Dickson

Tennessee College of Applied Technology Jacksboro

Texarkana College

Treasure Valley Community College

Trinidad State Junior College

Trinity Valley Community College

University of Maryland Eastern Shore

University of Saint Mary

University of the Southwest

Walla Walla Community College

Washburn University

Washington County Community College

Western Oklahoma State College

Williamsburg Technical College


Source: US Department of Education